Mayawati Declares Support For NDA Vice Presidential Candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar

The leader of the Bahujan Samaj Party, Mayawati, has endorsed Jagdeep Dhankhar of the NDA for vice president.
“It is generally known that the election for the position of the President, the nation’s highest office, was ultimately conducted because the administration and the opposition were unable to come to an agreement. Now, owing to the same circumstance, the vice-presidential election will also take place on August 6 “In Hindi, Mayawati tweeted.

She said, “The BSP has chosen to lend its support to Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar in the election for the position of Vice President, which I am also publicly declaring today, in view of the greater public interest and its own movement.”

READ MORE: Sena’s Aaditya Thackeray Criticizes Shinde Faction as “A Government Of Traitors”

The election for the position of vice president will take place on August 6. This occurs on August 10, 2022, the day before Vice President Venkaiah Naidu’s term ends.

While opposition parties nominated Margaret Alva as their nominee, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) named Jagdeep Dhankhar its vice presidential candidate.

In 1989, Jagdeep Dhankhar, a lawyer by training, joined politics. In July 2019, he was appointed governor of West Bengal, and since then, his contentious interactions with the Mamata Banerjee administration have garnered media attention. On Sunday, he submitted his letter of resignation as governor of West Bengal.

The Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha members make up the electoral college that chooses the vice president of India, the second-highest constitutional position in the nation.

Before the election, the Biju Janta Dal (BJD) declared their support for Jagdeep Dhankar, the NDA’s nominee for vice president.

Trinamool Congress, meanwhile, said that the party would not participate in the next vote for vice president.

Venkaiah Naidu was the NDA’s vice presidential candidate in 2017, and he ultimately won the election and was elected as India’s 15th vice president. August 10, 2022, marks the conclusion of his mandate.