India Announces Squad For T20 World Cup

On Monday, the Indian team for the 2022 ICC T20 World Cup was revealed, and all expected players were selected for the championship game. 

The squad is quite similar to the one that competed in the Asia Cup, with Axar Patel replacing the injured Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel replacing the inexperienced Ravi Bishnoi and Avesh Khan as the speed combo that returns from injury. 

Rohit Sharma will serve as India’s captain during an ICC competition, with opening batsman KL Rahul serving as his backup for the first time.

The squad includes middle-order Deepak Hooda and top-order batsmen Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav. 

READ MORE: England v South Africa: Ben Stokes’ side seal 2-1 series win

The team’s top all-rounder is Hardik Pandya, while Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant have been chosen as the wicket-keeper batter options.

The two spin bowling options, in addition to Axar, are Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravichandran Ashwin. Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar complete the fast bowling group.

Four players were also named as standbys by the selectors: top-order batsman Shreyas Iyer, all-rounder Deepak Chahar, spinner Ravi Bishnoi, and experienced pacer Mohammed Shami.

The selectors have also released the team for the forthcoming T20I series against Australia and South Africa.

India squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players: Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.