BJP Announced Biplab Deb As Rajya Sabha Candidate From Tripura

Biplab Deb has been named as the Bharatiya Janata Party’s nominee for the forthcoming by-elections for the Rajya Sabha from Tripura, the party said on Friday.

The statement was made shortly after the saffron party appointed former Tripura chief minister Deb to lead the state of Haryana.

The BJP had already swept the northeastern state, marking a crushing win in 2018, thanks to the former CM’s popularity. In Tripura, the Left had ruled for 25 years until the triumph in 2018.

He took office as Tripura’s 10th Chief Minister on March 9, 2018, then on May 14 of this year, he announced his resignation. Manik Saha, who was sworn in as Tripura’s Chief Minister on May 15, subsequently replaced him.

READ MORE: President Murmu And PM Modi express condolences on the death of Queen Elizabeth II

Thanks to PM Modi, the BJP, JP Nadda, and Amit Shah Ji for putting me up as a candidate for the Rajya Sabha seat representing Tripura, Mr. Deb tweeted. “I am dedicated to working for the development and welfare of Tripura and its people.”

The by-election for Manik Saha’s former Rajya Sabha seat has been set, according to the Indian Election Commission. The date of this election is September 22, 2022.

In April of this year, Mr. Saha was elected to the Upper House, where he will serve until April 2028.

Manik Saha was named Chief Minister of Tripura by the party hierarchy only a few weeks after taking the oath to serve in the Rajya Sabha.

Elections will be held in northeast Tripura the following year. While the opposition seems to be supporting the Mamata Banerjee-led TMC, the BJP is focused on creating a strong government for a second term.

JP Nadda, national president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), was earlier named on Friday to oversee several states and union territories, including those that would soon go to the polls, such as Tripura and Telangana.

In Bihar, Vinod Tawde has been named general secretary, and Harish Dwivedi remains co-in-charge.

Chhattisgarh has been assigned to Om Mathur, recently appointed to the Parliamentary board.

Biplab Deb, a former chief minister of Tripura, has been appointed to lead an organization and is now in charge of Haryana.

Former Union Minister and Noida MP Dr. Mahesh Sharma have taken over as Tripura’s governor instead of Vinod Sonkar. He was previously in control of the state until its elections next year.

Vijay Rupani, a former chief minister of Gujarat, has also been handed organizational duties in Chandigarh and Punjab.

Tarun Chugh, the national general secretary, still controls Telangana.

While Amit Malviya remains co-in charge, Bengal has a new leader in the person of Bihar MLC, Mangal Pandey.

Prakash Javadekar, a former Union minister, is now in charge of Kerala.

Arun Singh, a general secretary, is still in control of Rajasthan.

Laxmi Kant Bajpai has taken over as national general secretary in Jharkhand from Dilip Saikia.

Bajpai was recently transferred from Uttar Pradesh to the Rajya Sabha and appointed as the party’s top whip.

According to sources familiar with the situation, these appointments have been made while considering different caste combinations and keeping those who have previously held positions of authority busy with organizational tasks.

Election contests will occur throughout 2023, with states like Tripura, Meghalaya, and Nagaland holding elections in the first few months.