BJP to contest all 117 seats in Punjab Assembly polls

BJP to contest all 117 seats in Punjab Assembly polls.

The BJP is holding its national executive meeting on electoral strategy in five states. 

Punjab, India: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will contest all 117 seats in Punjab in the upcoming state Assembly elections, said Punjab BJP President Ashwani Sharma, who is attending the party’s national executive meeting held virtually in the national capital.

Punjab is scheduled to go to the Assembly polls in 2022.

In the 2017 Assembly elections, Congress had won an absolute majority in the state by winning 77 seats and overthrowing the SAD-BJP government after 10 years.

The Aam Aadmi Party emerged as the second-largest party to win 20 seats in the 117-member Punjab Legislative Assembly. The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) was only able to win 15 seats while the BJP secured 3 seats.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Interior Minister Amit Shah, and BJP chief JP Nadda attend the party’s national executive meeting. The discussion is expected to be on electoral strategy in seven states that will vote next year.