Sunday, December 5, 2021
No menu items!
HomeIndiaCongress names candidates for Assam, Maharashtra bypolls

Congress names candidates for Assam, Maharashtra bypolls

The Congress party announced on Monday the names of its candidates for by-elections in 3 assembly constituencies in Assam and one in Maharashtra.

Congress said Jowel Tudu, Bhaskar Dahal, and Manoranjan Konwar will compete from the Gossaigaon, Tamulpur, and Thowra seats in Assam, while Jitesh Antapurkar will compete for Deglur in Maharashtra.

Read more: A devastating fire broke out at Kalutola Street in Kolkata.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) had announced by-elections scheduled to fill 30 vacancies in the Assembly constituencies of various states.

According to the schedule announced by the ECI, the vote will take place on October 30 and the counting of votes will take place on November 2.

Meanwhile, the congressional candidates will present their nomination papers for the by-elections in the Dhariawad and Vallabhnagar assembly seats falling in the Pratapgarh and Udaipur districts on Friday this week in Rajasthan.

Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and PCC Director Govind Singh Dotasra will be present with the party’s candidates at the time of the nomination for both seats on October 8, the last day to submit the nomination.

Congress, however, has yet to announce the names of its candidates.

Devika Chowdhury - She is a professional news editor, writer, and blogger for the last 10 years. She is working with NewsGater as an off-beat news editor cum writer.

Suggested for you

Recent Stories