Great Britain Begin Davis Cup Finals Campaign Against United States in Glasgow

The Davis Cup Finals group rounds get off on Wednesday in Glasgow, as Great Britain takes on the United States.

For a spot in the November Finals in Malaga, Great Britain will compete against the USA, the Netherlands, and Kazakhstan in Group D.

Britain will be represented by Cameron Norrie, Dan Evans, Andy Murray, Joe Salisbury, and Neal Skupski. Britain has won the competition ten times, most recently in 2015.

The six Group D games are played in Glasgow’s Emirates Arena from September 13–18.

Following the passing of Queen Elizabeth II, there will be a minute of silence at the beginning of each day’s play, the British team will don black armbands or ribbons, and the national hymn will be sung.

READ MORE: Carlos Alcaraz Wins Maiden Grand Slam Title At US Open

The Lawn Tennis Association said that it thought that “sport has an essential role to play in bringing the country and communities together, not least in tough times,” even though several athletic events had been postponed during the period of national grief.

Four Great Britain players are among the top 50 singles players in the world, but only three of them are on Leon Smith’s team for the men’s team competition, and Jack Draper isn’t there because of an injury he sustained at the US Open.

Salisbury and Skupski are rated first and third in the men’s doubles standings, while Norrie, who lost in the semifinals at Wimbledon, is now ranked ninth. Evans and Murray are ranked 25th and 43rd, respectively.

Salisbury and his American partner Rajeev Ram won the US Open final last week against Skupski and his Dutch opponent Wesley Koolhof. Both players may meet their respective teammates in the group stages.

The Davis Cup was won by Great Britain in 2015 after a 79-year wait, thanks to three-time major winner Andy Murray. Great Britain advanced to the quarterfinals of last year’s Davis Cup.