President-Elect Droupadi Murmu To Take Oath Today

A 21-gun salute will accompany president-elect Droupadi Murmu’s swearing-in to the nation’s highest constitutional position.

She will be sworn into office as president by Chief Justice of India NV Ramana.

READ MORE: Separatist leader Yasin Malik goes on a hunger strike in Tihar jail

At the swearing-in ceremony will be Vice President and Chairman of the Rajya Sabha M. Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Speaker of the Lok Sabha Om Birla, Members of the Council of Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, heads of diplomatic missions, MPs, and principal civil and military officers.

President-elect Murmu, 64, created history on Thursday by beating rival Yashwant Sinha to become the second woman and the first tribal leader to assume the highest constitutional office.