Prime Minister Modi Targets Congress Over Tribal Plot

Prime Minister Modi Targets Congress Over Tribal Plot, Says Development Efforts Are Underway.

Bhopal: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday targeted congressional-led regimes in the country for “ignoring” the welfare of the tribes, adding that efforts are being made to ensure the development of regions that lagged behind during “previous” regimes.

“The previous governments did not give the tribals their quotas and they were deprived of basic facilities,” Modi said, addressing Janjatiya Gaurav Diwas celebrations here.

The central government is celebrating November 15, the anniversary of the birth of the revered tribal icon Birsa Munda as Janjatiya Gaurav Diwas.

“Like Ambedkar Jayanti, Gandhi Jayanti and other similar days, the Jayanti (birth anniversary) of Bhagwan Birsa Munda will be celebrated every year on November 15,” Prime Minister Modi said.

Development is now taking place in 100 aspirational districts that lagged behind during previous (congressional) regimes, Prime Minister Modi said.

Prime Minister Modi launched multiple initiatives for the well-being of the Janjatiya community, including the ‘Ration Aapke Gram’ program in Madhya Pradesh.

The plan aims to deliver the monthly installment of the PDS ration to the Janjatiya community beneficiaries in their own villages every month so that they do not have to travel to the fair-priced store to collect their ration.

Prime Minister Modi also handed out genetic counseling cards to recipients, marking the launch of the Madhya Pradesh sickle cell (hemoglobinopathy) mission.

The Mission has been developed to detect and treat patients suffering from sickle cell anemia, thalassemia, and other hemoglobinopathies and to increase public awareness of these diseases, the impact of which is seen as most profound in the Janjatiya community of Madhya Pradesh.

The prime minister laid the foundation stone for 50 Eklavya model residential schools in various states and UT, including Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Tripura, and Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu.