Monday, January 17, 2022
No menu items!
HomeIndiaPunjab Election 2022: Congress Finalise First List Of Candidates

Punjab Election 2022: Congress Finalise First List Of Candidates

Congress Finalise First List Of Candidates: The Congress party’s Central Election Committee (CEC) is scheduled to hold a session this

morning, which will vote its approval to the first list of candidates for the forthcoming

Punjab Assembly election 2022.

According to ABP News sources, around 40 applicants are expected to get a green signal

from the top command. Due to covid-19, the conference will be conducted via video

conferencing starting at 6 pm.

In addition to party president Sonia Gandhi, senior leader Rahu Gandhi, and other

members from the Election Committee, Punjab Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi and

Punjab Congress President Navjot Singh Sidhu, are likely to attend the gathering.

In Punjab, the entire state Punjab will be going through elections for the 117 Assembly

constituencies; it has one phase beginning on the 14th of February, and the vote count will

take place in March.

The Congress will also interview its screening committee at 11 AM this morning to discuss

candidates who will be running in the Uttarakhand election in 2022.

The political landscape in Punjab saw several changes in the past Assembly election in 2017

when the Congress had won 77 seats, with Lieutenant Amarinder Singh becoming the Chief


The BJP and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) together secured 18 seats, while The Aam Aadmi

Party secured 20 seats.

In the Punjab assembly elections, the rules have changed since captain Amarinder Singh

stepped down from his position and left the Congress party due to a disagreement with

Navjot Singh Sidhu, who was elected the state party’s president.

The long-running BJP-SAD alliance has also ended its relationship over three farm laws the

Centre approved in 2020. The SAD has recently allied along with Bahujan Samaj Party.

The Aam Aadmi Party has also established its presence within the state, with the party’s

chairman and Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal at the forefront of the campaign.

Suggested for you

Recent Stories