Taliban is forming a 12-member council

The Taliban is forming a 12-member council to run the country.

Shariat rule will continue in Afghanistan, not democracy. A 12-member council will run the country made up of top Taliban religious leaders.

Former President Hamid Karzai and Abdullah Abdullah, head of the High Council for National Reconciliation, will join the council. The top Taliban leader, Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar, is also on the board.

The Russian news agency Sputnik quoted ANI saying that seven council members’ names had already been finalized. The names of the rest will be announced shortly.

A Taliban source said: “Without the president, Afghanistan will be governed by a 12-member council. Seven members have been named so far.

From the Afghan Interior Hanif Atmar, Mollah Yaqub, son of Taliban founder Mollah Omar, Taliban leader Abdul Ghani Baradar and Network leader Haqqani Khalil.

They are Hamid Karzai, Abdullah Abdullah, the commander of Mujahid Gulbuddin Hekmatyar, the former minister. However, anti-Taliban commanders Abdul Rashid Dastam and warlord Nur Mohammad Atta have refused to attend.

It should note that the Taliban are in the hands of the Shura, the council of high Islamic clerics. The Quetta Shura was formed in 2001 after the US-led invasion of Afghanistan and the fall of the Taliban.

Shura initially works in Quetta, Baluchistan, Pakistan. But this time, the situation has changed, and the jihadist Taliban have returned to power in Afghanistan. As a result, the governance of the country will remain practically Shura.

Meanwhile, the Kabul airport is still under US control. And there is work to rescue American citizens and foreigners.

In such a scenario, US President Joe Biden has indicated that he may keep troops in Afghanistan after August 31. And that is why the jihadists are very angry.

However, the Taliban have threatened the United States that the results will not be good if they did not follow the deadline.