“To Defeat BJP.”: Asaduddin Owaisi’s Party’s Big Rajya Sabha Move

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) has chosen to vote for the Congress candidate in the Maharashtra Rajya Sabha elections on Friday.

Imtiaz Jaleel, an AIMIM Lok Sabha member from Aurangabad, made the declaration only hours before voting began at 9 a.m.

“Our two AIMIM Maharashtra MLAs have been instructed to vote for @INCIndia’s Rajya Sabha candidate @ShayarImran.” “We send him our warmest greetings!” Our party, @aimim national, voted for Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) in the Maharashtra Rajya Sabha elections to defeat the BJP. Mr. Jaleel wrote, “Our political/ideological disagreements will continue with @ShivSena, a partner in MVA along with @INCIndia, and @Maha speaks NCP.”

READ MORE: BJP Would Have Won in West Bengal, But…: JP Nadda

Seven candidates are running for the six seats in Maharashtra, where voting is taking place today.

Maharashtra is seeing a challenge in the Rajya Sabha elections for the first time in over two decades, with seven candidates vying for six seats. The polls will open at 9 a.m. and close at 4 p.m.

The electoral college for the elections is the 288-member Legislative Assembly. However, because there is a vacancy owing to the death of Shiv Sena MLA Ramesh Latke, the total votes have dropped to 285, and a special court on Thursday rejected the requests of minister Nawab Malik and former minister Anil Deshmukh requesting a day’s bail to vote in the polls.