Uddhav Thackeray calls an emergency meeting of all Shiv Sena MLAs

Following allegations of cross-voting in the Maharashtra MLC elections, Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray convened an emergency meeting of all Shiv Sena MLAs on Tuesday. According to reports, all MLAs have been requested to attend the meeting in full. Meanwhile, Eknath Shinde, a Bal Thackeray supporter, will speak at a news conference in Surat today at noon.

Chandrakant Handore, the Maha Vikas Aghadi candidate from the Congress, has lost in the MLS elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won five seats, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Shiv Sena each won two, and the Congress won one seat in the Maharashtra Legislative Council (MLC) that went to elections on Monday.

BJP leader Kirit Somaiya took to Twitter to say, “Shiv Sena (Mafia Sena) received 52 votes in Maharashtra Vidhan Parishad elections. The countdown to Uddhav Thackeray’s Mafia Sarkar began when 12 MLAs rebelled (55 Shiv Sena + 9 sympathizers = 64).”

Eleven people were running for the ten seats in the MLC. Pravin Darekar, Ram Shinde, Shrikant Bharatiya, Uma Khapre, and Prasad Lad — all of the BJP’s five candidates — won.

The NCP’s Ramraje Nimbalkar and Eknath Khadse, as well as the Shiv Sena’s Aamshya Padavi and Sachin Ahir, all won seats. Bhai Jagtap, one of the two candidates nominated by Congress, won, while Chandrakant Handore lost.

READ MORE: “Sure She (Mamata Banerjee) Approves,” said Yashwant Sinha of his presidential bid

Cross-voting between Shiv Sena and Congress members, according to the BJP’s winning candidate. “We are overjoyed. Maharashtra has showed its support for the BJP. Members of the Shiv Sena and the Congress cast cross-votes. We would not have garnered as many votes if it had not been for the fact that it was a special occasion. The BJP will win by a margin of 134 votes “Pravin Darekar, a BJP leader, claimed

He went on to say that independent MLAs had expressed their displeasure with the state administration. “We received 134 votes, which is the response to all those who doubted Devendra Fadnavis’ abilities. Devendra Fadnavis is the only leader who can lead, something none of the other three parties has achieved.

Devendra, having done it, the administration cannot do anything, and anger with the government has been expressed, with independent MLAs expressing their displeasure with the state government. We were able to demonstrate this by the results of the survey, “he said

Handore was lost owing to “internal sabotage,” according to Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam. “It is quite regrettable that a Dalit candidate, Chandrakant Handore, who was expected to get first preference votes among Congress MLAs, was defeated by the party’s second-choice candidate. Internal sabotage is the only explanation. Handore has my sympathies, “he said in a tweet.

BL Santhosh, the BJP’s general secretary (organization), said that his party had 106 MLAs in the Assembly and had garnered 133 votes. “Shiv Sena MLAs in Assembly: 56, Votes Received: 52; NCP MLAs in Assembly: 53, Votes Received: 57; Congress MLAs in Assembly: 44, Votes Received: 41; BJP MLAs in Assembly: 106, Votes Received: 133,” he tweeted.

He also shot Congress, saying, “Even when it loses, Congress shows its real colours. Bhai Jagtap, the party’s moneybag candidate, used party votes to beat Chandrakant Handore, a Dalit leader. Old habits are difficult to break.” On Monday, members of the Assembly cast their votes in the Legislative Council elections held at Vidhan Bhawan in Mumbai.

The BJP has 106 MLAs, the Shiv Sena has 56, the NCP has 53, and the Congress has 44. A total of 285 members voted on the MLC polls. Former Home Ministers Anil Deshmukh and Nawab Malik were not permitted to vote since they were in judicial detention on money laundering charges