Yashwant Sinha submitted a nomination in the presence of opposition leaders

Yashwant Sinha submitted a nomination in the presence of opposition leaders: In the presence of various opposition leaders, Yashwant Sinha, the unified opposition candidate for president, submitted his candidacy today. NCP leader Sharad Pawar and former Congressman Rahul Gandhi stood on each side of him.

The opposition leaders who were present at the Parliament house when 84-year-old former union minister Yashwant Sinha filed his nomination as the consensus candidate from 14 opposition parties included:

  • Telangana Minister and TRS leader KT Rama Rao.
  • Trinamool Congress leader Abhishek Banerjee.
  • Jammu & Kashmir National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah.
  • RLD leader Jayant Sinha.
  • CPI (M) leader Sitaram Yechury.
  • DMK leader.

Aam Aadmi Party and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, two significant opposition parties, chose not to send any delegates to the nomination. The tribal candidate Ms Murmu has received the support of two significant non-BJP parties, including Mayawati’s BSP and the BJD in Odisha. Draupadi Murmu, if elected, would be India’s first tribal leader.

READ MORE: Mizoram to provide drinking water to flood-affected Assam

Mr Sinha gave the returning officer for the presidential election, PC Mody, four nomination papers. Mody is the secretary-general of the Rajya Sabha.

The K Chandrashekhar Rao-led Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), which had previously expressed concerns about selecting the candidate and sharing a platform with the opposition Congress, today confirmed its support for Mr Sinha in a last-minute boost.

The odds are overwhelmingly against Mr Sinha, and Draupadi Murmu of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is the most probable winner. The opposition attempts to present a unified front against the BJP; thus, today’s display of force is seen as an important political move.

A “rubber stamp” president would not do, according to Mr Sinha, and he will be “more constitutional” if elected president over Draupadi Murmu. Additionally, he said that the election is “a struggle of ideas to maintain the Constitution of India,” even if they do not have a “personal conflict” with Ms Murmu.

To elect the President, one must surpass the 50 per cent threshold, and the governing party now has roughly 49 per cent of the electoral college.

Elections will take place on July 18, and nominations must be submitted by June 29.