Home Sports News Australia will host the 2028 Presidents Cups

Australia will host the 2028 Presidents Cups

Australia will host the 2028 Presidents Cups. 

MELBOURNE: The PGA Tour announced on Thursday that Australia will host the Presidents Cup in 2028 and 2040. However, the biennial team-based competition is returning to Melbourne’s ‘Sandbelt’ as part of a long-term commitment.

The Presidents Cup venue for 2028 will be announced at a later date.

In its three prior visits to Melbourne, the competition was held at Royal Melbourne in 1998, 2011, and 2019.

Under the late Peter Thomson’s guidance, the International team defeated the United States in 1998. Still, the United States prevailed in 2011 and 2019.

“Australia and its enthusiastic fanbase have played a key role in the growth of the Presidents Cup since it was originally staged in Melbourne in 1998,” stated PGA Tour Commissioner Jay Monahan.

MORE: Manchester City reaches the Champions League semi-finals.

“As the tournament expands to new parts of the globe, we are committed to maintaining a presence in Melbourne and the Sandbelt region, which our players and fans worldwide value highly.”

Following a one-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 epidemic, the Presidents Cup will be held in September at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Davis Love III, the captain of the United States in the Presidents Cup, chose Zach Johnson and Fred Couples as his assistants at Quail Hollow on Wednesday.

The United States defeated the Internationals 16-14 at Royal Melbourne in 2019 to win the Presidents Cup for the seventh time in a row.

The competition has been dominated by the United States, which has won 11 of the 13 times conducted.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here