BJP Target To Win 35 Seats In 2024 Bihar Lok Sabha Election

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has established a goal of gaining 35 seats in Bihar in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, days after the Janata Dal (United), headed by Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, severed ties with the National Democratic Alliance.

Amit Shah, the Union Home Minister, and JP Nadda, the party’s national president, attended a meeting of the Bihar BJP Core Committee on Tuesday at the party’s Delhi headquarters.

At the meeting on Tuesday was Sanjay Jaiswal, the state president of the Bihar BJP, BL Santosh, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Sahnawaz Hussain, Mangal Pandey, Janak Ram, Nand Kishore Yadav, and several other figures.

Mr. Jaiswal said after the meeting, “In Bihar, the Mahagathbandhan is a coalition of populist swindlers. From the street to the state Assembly, BJP will battle it. The party’s goal for the Lok Sabha elections in 2024 is to win 35 seats.”

“President JP Nadda and Union Home Minister Amit Shah were in attendance at the Bihar Core Committee meeting today. All the concerns have been covered in great length and depth. The coalition’s betrayal of the people and attempt to reinstate Lalu Raj via a backdoor partnership are well known “Added he.

In the general elections of 2024, according to Mr. Jaiswal, the BJP would break the previous record by capturing more than 35 seats in Bihar.

READ MORE: Telangana CM KC Rao urges people not to follow the BJP’s policies

Bihar has 40 Lok Sabha seats, 17 currently controlled by the BJP and 16 by the JD(U). Congress has one seat, while the Lok Janshakti Party has six seats.

A total of 31 ministers from the different parties that make up the Mahagathbandhan or the Grand Alliance in the state of Bihar were earlier on Tuesday appointed to the Bihar cabinet.

Phagu Chauhan, the governor of Bihar, gave the new Ministers the oath of office and secrecy at Raj Bhavan.

The Janata Dal (United) received 11, while the RJD received 16.

In addition to Sumit Kumar Singh, the lone Independent MLA, two Congress lawmakers and one Jitin Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha took the oath of office as cabinet ministers.

Taking the oath on behalf of the RJD was Tej Pratap Yadav, brother of deputy chief minister Tejashwi Yadav, Samir Kumar Mahaseth, Chandrashekhar, Kumar Sarvajeet, Lalit Yadav, Surendra Prasad Yadav, Ramanand Yadav, Jitendra Kumar Rai, Anita Devi, Sudhakar Singh, and Alok Mehta.

Santosh Suman of the Hindustani Awam Morcha and Congress lawmakers Afaque Alam and Murari Lal Gautam were sworn in as ministers.

Up to 36 ministers, including the chief minister, may serve in the Bihar cabinet. According to insiders, several ministerial positions would be left open for potential future cabinet growth.

Earlier this month, Nitish Kumar split from the BJP to form a coalition government with the RJD and other parties. On August 10, the Chief Minister and Tejashwi Yadav of the RJD took the oath of office.

The overall strength of the Bihar Grand Alliance is 163. After Independent MLA Sumit Kumar Singh backed Nitish Kumar, the party’s actual power increased to 164. On August 24, the Bihar legislature is set to vote in favor of the new administration with a majority.

In the closely contested 2020 Bihar Assembly elections, the National Democratic Alliance won 125 seats, including 74 from the BJP, 43 from Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United), and 4 from the Vikassheel Insaan Party, and 4 from the Hindustan Awaam Party (Secular). With this, the NDA surpassed the necessary 122-majority threshold to establish the government.

On the other side, the RJD and its allies had secured 110 seats. With 75 seats, the RJD emerged as the single-largest party, while Congress only managed to get 19 seats. The Left parties won 16 of the 29 seats, with the CPI (ML-Liberation) taking home 12. In the state’s Seemanchal area, Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM has won five hearts. Four of its legislators have joined the RJD.