KCR’s Party Will Skip Opposition Meeting Today, Citing Congress

Mamata Banerjee convened a large gathering today to discuss a common strategy for the next presidential election, which would test opposition unity despite attempts by diverse politicians to set together a front to take on the governing BJP in future elections, including the 2024 national election.

Mamata Banerjee, the Chief Minister of West Bengal, convened a conference in Delhi with 22 political parties to develop a unified front against the BJP and its allies in the election for a new President of India.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) of Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao, which opted out of the conference citing solid objections to the Congress being invited, was an early spoiler in the efforts to merge against the BJP.

The TRS said, “There is no idea of sharing any platform with Congress.”

READ MORE: Gujarat: AAP to Begin Campaign for Free Electricity Today

Despite the Congress’ complaints, the party was invited, according to the party, which pointed to Rahul Gandhi’s previous criticism. “Rahul Gandhi has attacked the TRS administration without any word of criticism against the BJP in a recent public gathering in Telangana,” the statement added, accusing the Congress of “ganging up with the BJP” in Telangana.

On July 18, presidential elections will be held, and the results will be announced on July 21.

NCP leader Sharad Pawar, who will attend the summit, is said to have turned down an opportunity to run for President as the opposition’s candidate. According to his party, the veteran is hesitant to wage a lost struggle because he believes the opposition will lack the numbers to support its nominee for the presidency.

Shortly after landing, Mamata Banerjee met with Sharad Pawar in Delhi.

Mamata Banerjee’s adversaries in Bengal, the Congress and the Left have also confirmed their participation.

According to reports, Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is unlikely to attend the meeting in Delhi.

Mallikarjun Kharge of the Congress, Hemant Soren of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Akhilesh Yadav of the Samajwadi Party, Binoy Viswam of the CPI, and Elamaram Kareem of the CPM are among the figures expected to attend the meeting.

TR Baalu of the DMK, Subhash Desai of the Shiv Sena, Jayant Chaudhary of the RLD, Omar Abdullah of the National Conference, and Mehbooba Mufti of the Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party are all anticipated to attend.

HD Kumaraswamy, the former Chief Minister of Karnataka, and HD Deve Gowda, the former Prime Minister of India, are both expected to participate.